Review: Skulduggery Pleasant: Resurrection. Derek Landy.

Originally written: 21/11/19. Contains spoilers.

Finally reading this series’ part two! I plan to dive right into Midnight afterwards. I wasn’t sure what to expect going in, when the previous series had been wrapped up so nicely and when so many of the characters I had loved from it were dead – I kept waiting for Ghastly to reappear despite knowing full well that he wouldn’t.

I was glad to see China though, and Fletcher. Tanith is alive, just not featured, and the same goes for Valkyrie’s family, though I can’t say this was a disappointment. I’m sure that it’s just me, but I never really cared for the Edgley family outside of brief, early installment moments. I also don’t really care about little sister Alice yet. She’s on the front cover of Midnight, I know, so I hope Landy does a good job with her.

So, Skulduggery and Valkyrie are back in action. This was a fun book and a good re-introduction to the world. Omen Darkly was a little sweetheart and I liked Temper Frey a lot too. Hoping that they’re going to be recurring characters. Abyssinia sounds like a great villain and I can’t wait to meet her for realsies.

Never, Omen’s non-binary BFF, was a bit annoying in truth, because excuse me, you do not speak to Valkyrie Cain like that. Okay, I know this is just my teenage heart shrieking with outrage at the idea of someone being rude to her after everything she went through in the first series –

Ahem. Inevitably, after Darquesse, we were going to see her victims being bitter towards the monster’s host, but I just –

I think that because I went through the whole previous war from Valkyrie’s perspective, because I remember her pain, that outsiders chipping in their two cents after all is said and done, even outsiders who were affected by the war, comes across as ignorant, unwanted commentary. I am not sure whether we were supposed to sympathise with Never, and with other characters like them, but I didn’t.

Leave Val alone, you cretins.

The relentless one-liners felt seriously dialed back this time, something for which I am infinitely grateful. In some of the previous series’ books I felt like it could get too much, but the humour in Resurrection was just right.

So yes. Excited to crack on with Midnight!

Published by thetearoom17

My name is Lucy Jane Holmes. I’m a writer and tea drinking expert from England. I am also an avid reader and lover of nature, and would happily spend the rest of my life taking long walks in picturesque places (if I could afford to). I write on this blog about the things that make me happy; books, fiction, and my hopes and dreams. So, I hope you enjoy your time spent here, however brief or extended that time may be, and if you would like to let me know what you thought, feel free to head over to my other social medias, and reach out :)

Leave a comment